Nominations for the XI PLG Business Development Awards are now OPEN. You can now nominate colleagues for the PLG Business Development Best Newcomer and AstraZeneca Business Development Executive of the Year awards using the online forms below. Deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday 19th January 2018








The UK PLG makes two Business Development awards each year where we recognise the contribution made by individuals to the healthcare business development community.

These awards are open to executives from European based companies and are presented at the PLG’s Annual Dinner held in February/March of each year in London.  The event attracts around 100 CEOs and business development & licensing executives from across the industry.

The AstraZeneca award for the Business Development Executive of the Year is given to a person who has directly contributed to achieving one or more deals that have been significant or transformative for their company during the past year.

Previous Winners

  • 2016 – Karen LaRochelle, PsiOxus Therapeutics
  • 2015 – Francois Fornieri, Mithra Pharmaceuticals
  • 2014 – Thorsten Umland, Bayer HealthCare
  • 2013 – Joint Winners – Joanne Kelley, AstraZeneca & Barbara Krebs-Pohl, MorphoSys
  • 2012 – Catherine Pickering, Merck Serono
  • 2011 – Daniel Thomas, Alliance
  • 2010 – Sean McKercher, Ipsen
  • 2009 – Martin Buckland, Astex Therapeutics
  • 2008 – Keith Martin, Apitope
  • 2007 – Eva-Lotta Allen, Ablynx

The second award is the PLG Business Development Best Newcomer of the Year, which is awarded to a new entrant or person with limited experience who has made significant progress in their business development skills and experience.

Previous Winners

  • 2016 – Benjamin Owens, EUSA Pharma
  • 2015 – Anne Vroon, Genmab
  • 2014 – Arnaud Wieczorek, Onxeo
  • 2013 – Cedric Ververken, Ablynx
  • 2012 – Peter Huber-Saffer, AstraZeneca, Germany
  • 2011 – Ashley Cox, Glenmark
  • 2010 – Angela Columbano, Merck
  • 2009 – John Strafford, Antisoma & Giorgio Pinci, Merck Serono
  • 2008 – Rebecca Forster, Mundipharma
  • 2007 – Steve Skilleter, Thornton Ross